Search This Website

Monday, September 13, 2021

When and how much rupee note was first printed by the Reserve Bank, find out whose photo was on it

When and how much rupee note was first printed by the Reserve Bank, find out whose photo was on it

The Reserve Bank of the country has the right to issue colorful Indian currency. Only notes issued by him are valid. The colors and designs of the Indian currency have changed a lot over the years. Cash transactions have been leading in India. However, nowadays people are gradually attracted to digital payments. But there is a large segment of the country, which still prefers to transact only in cash. We all use notes every day, but do you know how many rupees the first note was printed by the Reserve Bank of India. Let's find out.

At present 2000, 500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10, 5, 2 and 1 rupee notes are in circulation in the country. One thousand notes were issued in 2016 after the ban.

Rule of note printing

The Reserve Bank has been printing currency since 1956 under the 'Minimum Reserve System' for printing currency notes. According to the rule, a minimum reserve of Rs 200 crore is always required for printing currency notes. Only then can the Reserve Bank print currency notes.

How many first notes were printed?

The Reserve Bank of India was established on April 1, 1935. This means that the Reserve Bank was founded in the country before independence. In January 1938, three years after its inception, the RBI issued the first 5 rupee note. The note had a picture of 'King George VI' printed on it. This means that the Reserve Bank issued its first currency 9 years before independence. After this, Rs 10, Rs 100 notes were issued in March and Rs 1,000 and Rs 10,000 currency notes were issued in June.

The first Indian rupee since independence

Independent India, the first currency note of Rs. 1 was issued by the Reserve Bank in the year 1949. Until 1947, a picture of British King George was printed on banknotes issued by the Reserve Bank. The Reserve Bank first issued Rs 100 notes in 1969 with a picture of Gandhiji.


The Indian currency is called the Indian Rupee (INR). One Indian rupee is 100 paise. The symbol of the Indian rupee is '₹'. The design is inspired by the Devanagari letter (R). Earlier, Rs. Was written.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Post

JioCinema set to launch a digital film festival next week