Pages

JOIN WHATSAPP GROUP

Search This Website

Tuesday, October 25, 2022

Know what the rules of cricket say about no-ball and free-hit

Know what the rules of cricket say about no-ball and free-hit



Team India settled the account of defeat against Pakistan in the 2021 T20 World Cup in Melbourne on Sunday. The match between the high voltage drama lasted till the last ball and thanks to the brilliant batting of Virat Kohli, India won the match by 4 wickets.

Two incidents happened in the last over, on which Pakistani fans have been making a ruckus since the end of the match. One is a no ball for a high full toss and the other is 3 runs off a bye by Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik despite being bowled on a free-hit. Pakistani supporters feel that their team has been cheated. What is the truth? What do the laws of cricket say on these matters. In this story you will get the answer with complete details.

First of all know the reality of no ball controversy

Team India had to score 16 runs in the last over. The bowler was left arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz. Hardik Pandya got out on the first ball itself. When Hardik went, Karthik came and instead of hitting, took a single and gave a strike to Kohli. Kohli took 2 runs on the third ball of the over. Now 13 runs were to be scored in 3 balls.

Nawaz throws a full toss just above waist height. Virat hit a six on it. Seeing the umpire, Virat signaled a no-ball. He believed that the ball was higher than waist height and it should be given a no ball. The umpire also agreed with Kohli and a no ball was given.

The Pakistani team and fans believe that this ball was not a no ball. Let us know what the rules say on this.

The rule states that for a high full toss to be a no ball, it is necessary that the height of the ball should be higher than the batsman's waist at the time of first point of contact with the batsman.

The second condition is that the batsman is not playing the shot while charging beyond the crease.

Check out the first picture with the news. At the time when the ball came in contact with Virat's bat, his height was more than Virat's waist. That is, the first condition for a no ball is fulfilled.

In this picture, Virat is seen playing on the front foot. He was not trying to hit by stepping down. Just playing on the front foot. His back foot was still on the crease while playing the shot. That is, the second condition of the no ball for the height is also being fulfilled.

Why was the matter not referred to the third umpire?

Former Pakistan stalwarts like Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis said during the TV show that when technology was available, the matter should be referred to the third umpire to know whether there is a no ball or not.

Probably Akram and Waqar have not read the rules of modern cricket properly. According to the rules, whether a high full toss is a no ball or not, it is referred to the third umpire only when the batsman is out on that ball.

This was not the case in this case. Kohli was not out. He had hit a six. Yes, this rule can definitely be changed in future, but at present the ground umpire did not have any facility for it and he had to take the decision on the no ball, which he also took.

Now the second controversy - why the ball was not dead when it was bowled

The next ball after the no ball was a free hit. Virat got bowled on this. But, despite this, he and Karthik ran for three byes. Pakistani fans say that it should have been declared a dead ball. How did the bye run on it?

The rule states that if a batsman is bowled on a normal ball, then the ball becomes dead as soon as it hits the wicket. Even if the ball is a no ball, it becomes dead after hitting the wicket and that run cannot be run. But, the ball that Virat and Karthik hit for three byes was neither a normal ball nor a no ball. It was a free hit ball after a no ball.

Regarding this, ICC's playing condition (rule 21.18) says that even if the batsman is bowled on a free hit, the ball is not dead after hitting the wicket. Runs can be run on it. If the ball hits the wicket after hitting the bat, the runs go to the batsman's account. Bye runs are awarded if the batsman is beaten and the ball hits the wicket. That is what happened in this case. The ball did not hit Virat's bat, so three runs were given as byes.

In this way it becomes clear that the cricketer or fan who is criticizing the ICC in both these matters does not know the modern rules of cricket. There was no cheating with Pakistan and Team India competed in a completely fair manner.

India won the biggest match of T20 World Cup 2022. beat Pakistan by 4 wickets. Hero was Virat Kohli, who played an unbeaten innings of 82 runs. Handled India, losing 4 wickets for 31 runs. Partnered 113 with Hardik. When 16 runs were needed in the last over, it was Kohli who turned the team towards victory by hitting a six off the no ball. He was adjudged man of the match.

The India-Pakistan match in the T20 World Cup was like an episode of 'Comedy of Error'. Like a roller coaster ride.

Although the whole match was like this, but every ball of the last two overs was like a match. These two overs were of 20 minutes. That included 15 balls, 1 no, 2 wides, 3 sixes, 2 stops of the match and then a lot of emotion. But, nothing logic.

CLICK HERE TO READ NEWS REPORT IN HINDI

No comments:

Post a Comment